top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMegan

Corner Desk DIY


When my husband and I set off on the adventure of starting our own painting company 5 years ago, my desk looked much different. The very first desk we had was made out of scrap wood and assembled by my husband. It was a lovely desk and worked perfectly for that time in our lives.








My second desk was another DIY. We took two filing cabinets, painted the exterior ivory, and the pulls dark brown. The top was a left over piece of butcher block from renovating our first home. This desk worked wonderfully for a couple years. But as our business grew, my husband and I found ourselves needing more desk space.






One of the main reasons we bought this house was because of the space in the master bedroom. We thought it would make a perfect spot for our home office. I really wanted to utilize as much of the space as I could. So I drew out plans for a corner desk and began the hunt for a desk top surface. I looked into getting some more butcher block and using that along with our existing piece, but the prices were a lot higher than I was wanting to spend. I googled different desk tops and came across a sale on some at World Market.

I ordered two of these desk tops and they were delivered in about 4 days. When they arrived I laid them out in their potential spots. I was going to use my old file cabinets for the outside edges of the desk, and some brackets I found at Lowes to hold up the corner pieces. And when I say I, what I mean to say is my lovely husband.



I decided to add a black shelf from Hobby Lobby to the wall, to display some colorful flowers (or later on some jars full of office supplies). And a few frames, decor pieces to bring it all together.

One of the decorations I was most excited about was a smaller gold frame from TJ MAXX that I put our business card in.



I'm so excited about how everything turned out! I especially love that I can look right out my window and watch the hummingbirds come to the feeder I put out for them. I finally got my mega-desk.




List of Materials:

TJ MAXX:

- frames

- desk lamp

- greenery

- basket for storage

Hobby Lobby:

- cork boards (dark brown)

- black shelf

- glass jars

- black metal 3 tier organizer



209 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page