top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMegan

Sister Bedroom

After months of searching for all the right things, at just the right price, we have finally completed the girls bedroom! Currently it's just our 4 year old in there, but she's excited that soon she will have a roommate. I wanted their shared room to have a girly vibe, but something that will grow with them. The room turned out just like I hoped, so if you are interested in where I got some of the items in the picture (or how I DIYed them) then just keep scrolling!

The first order of business was to have my husband paint the room. Again, just like the bathroom, we went with Sherwin Williams color Alabaster 7008. I wanted the back wall to pop, but I also didn't really want to spend a ton of money on this project. So we bought some long (pre-primed) wooden boards at Lowes and my husband measured out and used a nail gun to secure them to every stud in the wall. He caulked the sides of each board and then painted them the same color as the wall. The total cost was under $50.

My next DIY project were the beds. I had an idea of what I was looking for and had pinned a few things on Pinterest to inspire me. This was also something I wanted to do on a budget, especially after seeing how much two beds in the style I wanted would have cost me. I ended up finding these little gems on Facebook Marketplace nearby, $75 for both.

Before



My first step was to strip the headboards of the stain and clear coat. This spray worked really well, I found a scraper and q-tips for detailed parts really worked best. (Make sure you have gloves on and air flowing through the area, I got some of this splattered on my leg and boy does it burn)


I finished the other part of the bed by giving them a light sanding.

I really liked how the wood came out on the border, and it didn't seem like it was going to accept a stain very well. So I decided to keep that the way it was and paint the interior section. I used this primer (it's oil based) and it worked really well. My husband (who paints for a living) highly recommends this stuff because it bonds well to the sanded wood and will keep the paint from scratching off. (Just don't get it on anything you don't want it on because it WILL NOT come off)

I really loved how it turned out! The paint is holding up very nicely, the top 2 coats of paint on the headboard are the same color as the wall. I also nicely asked my husband to use his paint sprayer to prime and paint the rest of the bed for me. (He's the best :)





We ended up ordering both mattresses from Tuft and Needle . They took a couple days longer than planned to arrive, but the customer service was super responsive and quick to help. The mattresses unfolded easily and are super comfy. I may still order the mattress protectors from the website to protect them, since they are super bright white and absorbent. My daughter has slept really well on them so far, so we are really pleased with this purchase. This was the one part of the room I wanted to really invest in because a good nights sleep is super important.



It's the little things...

I love all the little additions to the room. I will try to link them below or share where I found them.

Comforter (JCPenny)


Fancy Flamingo (a precious gift from Aunt Kyrie)

World Market Mirror (was on major sale/may not be currently, must add fingerprints yourself)

Bead Chain (Hobby Lobby)

Porcelain Flowers (re-used from other room)

Swan Head (also re-used)

Ivory Table (IKEA a long time ago)

Yellow Puffs (Hobby Lobby)

Frame (TJ MAXX)

Vase (Target)

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog! I'm so excited about how this room turned out, and even more excited about the sister memories the girls will create in here! If you have any questions, let me know below or come find me and ask me on Instagram (Mountainmamamegan)



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page