top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMegan

DIY Disney Shirts (no-sew)


We are headed on a Disney Cruise soon and we are sooo excited! I wanted to be super cheesy and wear matching shirts the day we get on the cruise. I didn't really want to spend a ton of money on them, and after some creative thinking (and help at Hobby Lobby) I came up with this quick easy way to make matching Mickey shirts!

H&M T-shirt




First, I bought some plain white t-shirts for the family! They were each around $4-$5 and the other supplies were maybe a couple bucks per shirt so I made four matching family shirts for around $25. Not bad! (Click the picture for the link to the kids shirts or click here)









Supplies:

I got all of my supplies at Hobby Lobby:

- Fabric for the girls shirts / Hubby's shirt

- Matching ribbon for the bow

- Iron on transfer paper

- and I traced a Mickey pattern and used that to make the cutouts


The next step was to create the Mickey cut out that I wanted and then cut the fabric.


Then I followed the directions on the double sided Wonder-Under. I put the "wrong side" of the fabric on the "rough side" of the Wonder-Under. I cut out around the basic shape I wanted, because the transfer paper would immediately melt on the iron if it wasn't covered by the fabric. I just slowly ironed the middle and out towards the sides, and then cut of the remaining paper. You only have to keep the heat on it for about 5-8 seconds.

Peel the backing off the fabric, once it has cooled. And then iron onto the shirt.


For this last step, I did bust out a needle and tread and just simply attached a bow I made from the ribbon to the top of the Mickey (or in this case, Minnie head). But to keep this no-sew you could easily just hot-glue the bow on the head or leave it out all together.

And there you have it! A quick, simple, and in my opinion, adorable Disney shirt to force your whole family to wear!

(Once we get a family picture, I'll update you on how they look!)




80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page